Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Poachtatoes

Posted by Caveman Cooking on February 5, 2010

Poachtatoes
This recipe was inspired by one of my favorite food bloggers, Pam author of Ramblings of a Bored Cook, and her Fried Mashed Potatoes recipe. And you thought leftover mashed potatoes were a waste! ;)

INGREDIENTS

3/4 Cup Leftover Mashed Potatoes
1 Large Egg
1/2 Tbsp Butter
3 Tbsp Vinegar
4 Cups Water

RECIPE

Bring water and vinegar just to a boil, then lower flame to keep the water gently moving, just under a boil.
HINT #1: Proper water temperature is key to getting a good free-boiled poached egg. Water temp should be about 170° to 190°, depending on altitude.
Poaching Water

When water is ready, melt butter in a skillet or fry pan.
Butter in Pan

Take leftover mashed potatoes and form into a ball. Should be just under the size of a baseball.
Potato Ball

When butter is ready, place potato ball into pan. With a spatula, flatten the ball into a patty about 1/2 inch to 3/4 inch thick. Allow to cook undisturbed over a medium flame. About 5-6 minutes.
Potato Series

When potato patty is golden brown, gently flip over and cook other side to same doneness. When done, remove from pan with spatula and place onto plate.
Flipped Potato Patty

As soon as you flip the patty it’s time to start poaching your egg. Crack the egg and then gently, slowly and smoothly ease the egg into the sub-boiling water. It should immediately sink and start to form. If necessary, use a slotted spoon to very gently coax the egg into shape. Soon after the egg will start to float and continue to cook in it’s final shape. Egg should be done in about 3-5 minutes.
HINT #2: Remember, water boils at a lower temperature at higher altitudes, but the eggs take longer to cook.
Egg Series

When egg is done, gently remove it from the water with a slotted spoon. Gently shake the spoon to make sure all water is drained away.
Perfectly Poached Egg

Gently place on top of potato patty, salt and pepper to taste, and serve.
Poachtatoes

This time around I served it along side a warmed leftover Korean Pork Chop (Daeji Galbi) and doused it in some Tapatio Sauce. Next time, I think I’ll try a Hollandaise Sauce for a Poachtato Benedict.
HINT #3: I have obviously given you the recipe for just one Poachtato. To make more, just increase ingredients proportionately, except for water and vinegar. You should be able to poach several eggs simultaneously, and numerous overall, with the amounts already prescribed.
Poachtato & Pork Chop

Prep Time = 10 minutes
Cook Time = 10 minutes
Serves 1

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

24 Responses to “Poachtatoes”

  1. MaryMoh said

    That would make a lovely breakfast. I love that poached egg. One is not enough for me :P

    • Thanks, M2! One is usually not enough for me, either. But, I did have the Pork Chop! Plus, I’m trying to “downsize my assets” a little, so I’m trying to eat smaller portions. ;)

  2. Those potato cakes sound perfect especially with the poached egg!

  3. boredcook said

    How good was the fried mashed potato? Thank my father for that idea. I was always happy as a kid when we had leftover mashed potatoes and he made those up.

    OK, you know about my weird gross out situation with eggs. But I have to tell you that even for me, that poached egg actually looks…good! Did I just say that? It looks fluffy and creamy. I’m not planning on trying one for myself. But since I have a son who loves eggs any which way, I may try this for him. Honestly, I’ve cooked eggs every way you could imagine but I’ve never made a poached egg. I may give it a shot.

    • Thanks to Dad, then, Pam! ;)
      I’m so glad that that egg has tempted you to cross that culinary line. I keep hoping that one of my carnivore creations tempts the Cavewoman to cross her veggie line someday. It’s highly doubtful that will ever happen … but, like Bass fishing pro Mike Iaconelli, I will never give up! :lol:

  4. Love fried mashed taters… nice twist

  5. sweetlife said

    Ohh hubby would love these… thanks

  6. Looks like a yummy pre-superbowl snack. WHo’s it gonna be-Colts or Saints?

    • Not sure, Doc. Though the “smart money” seems to have come in strong for the Colts. I’ll be happy if either team wins … I’m just hoping for a good game!
      What say you, Doc?

  7. I’ve been frying up mashed potatoes for years but never thought to cover it with a poached egg. How good is that with all those textures going on. I’m drooling as I write this. Oooooh how about poaching the egg in some spicy green enchilada sauce? Now I wish I had some leftover mashed potatoes.

    • Thanks, Pamie! Yeah, this really calls for a good sauce. I’m going to try a hollandaise, but a spicy verde sauce sounds good, too. Now you’ve got me thinking … Hmmmmmmmm … ;)

  8. Glinda said

    I am so going to try these! Nice Job!

  9. Viviane said

    I think Hollandaise sauce is on my list of cringe inducing stuff now. I tried a little while back with some poached eggs… Hell no! I like the mashed potatoes patties though, these look good. At first I thought the egg was sour cream.

    • Funny how everybody’s taste buds are different (no pun intended), eh Viviane?!? My Man’s Belly had a good suggestion of using a Verde Sauce. I’m also working on an Avocado-based sauce to try on it. Even without a sauce, this puppy rocked!

  10. I really like your idea. I was wondering if you have ever poached eggs in water sin vinegar; to me, I can still taste the vinegar, and I am not too fond of vinegar.

    • Thanks, TOB! I’m sensitive to vinegar, too. But, in this small amount I don’t taste it at all. You can poach eggs without it. Though, vinegar really helps the whites stay together better and coagulate quicker.

  11. And that is what you call a heavenly breakfast! A very nice food to start your day! I will be very excited to wake up everyday!

  12. Love the pic of you and your daughter cooking :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,886 other followers

