Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Freezer Food Fest #1

Posted by Caveman Cooking on December 28, 2009

It’s official! We’re moving!! So, I have been given a “request” by the Cavewoman to empty the freezer before we move in 45 days. The pressure is on!
I’ll be chronicling each meal pulled from it’s frozen vault and thrust into the meal-time limelight. We’ll see if we can actually empty the freezer before zero hour! At the very least, we’ll have some fun and flavor along the way.
For the first meal, I yanked a package of Florentyna’s Fall Harvest Squash Round Ravioli out of it’s chilled lair. If you haven’t sampled Florentyna’s assortment of fresh-frozen pasta creations, I highly recommend you give them a try. When you don’t have the time or inclination to make your own pasta, their fresh varieties are the perfect substitute.
In the interest of full disclosure, you may notice that I am actually holding a package of their Portabella Mushroom Round Ravioli in the picture. The shot of the Squash Ravioli just didn’t come out. So, you are likely to see this same shot again when we attempt the shrooms.
Still the question remained, “What to do for a sauce?”. My Italian Sauce just seemed too heavy to go with the delicate flavors of the Kobocha and Butternut squashes. My tiny Cave-brain started spinning … butter, garlic, basil, pine nuts in some sort of creamy sauce sounded perfect.
So, I went at it and ended up with a new recipe: Creamy Pine Nut Pasta Sauce.
The reviews were incredible! The Cavewoman said “I don’t want to have to swallow it … it’s that good! The best I’ve ever had!!”. The Caveboy gave it “1000 thumbs-up!”. While the Cavegirl mumbled, with her mouth full of ravioli, something to the effect of “Me too!!!”.
So, the first installment of the Freezer Food Fest was a success. I’m just hoping I haven’t set the bar too high for the rest of this Herculean undertaking!

©2009 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

15 Responses to “Freezer Food Fest #1”

  1. April said

    Now I’m inspired to clean out my freezer, too! Love the Pine Nut Sauce, although I recommend dry roasting the pine nuts for a few minutes to bring out their flavor. Looking forward to what else you come up with in your freezer challenge!

    • TY, April. It’s definitely going to be a challenge the rest of the way … but, a fun challenge, at least!
      Even though the Pine Nuts are already roasted, would you re-roast them?

      • My bad, April! I just looked at my Pine Nut package and they are NOT already roasted. I think I’ll throw them in the DeLonghi for a few minutes next time around. Thanks for the tip!

  2. boredcook said

    Looks yummy! I love pine nuts.

  3. lvegas said

    Moving is a great way to clean out your freezer and kitchen cabinets, too. Pine nut pasta sauce looks like a killer recipe!

    • Thanks, LV! Funny you should mention the kitchen cabinets … we worked on some of those today and came up with a treasure trove! Over $100 in gift cards and an unopened bottle of Chinaco Anejo Tequila … SCORE!!! 🙂

  4. Kristi said

    Looks delicious. You’ll be saving money too by eating from the freezer. I’ll be doing the same thing. Not because we are moving, but because I have so much food left over from holiday festivities. Good luck!

  5. JeffR said

    Are you moving far?

  6. Hello
    It sounds good idea about freezer food fest.Well I do not keep so much frozen food in my freezer because I think its not that much healthy food for you.Thank you very much for such useful post for all.Keep up the good work and Have a Happy New Year.

    • Thanks, geruchloser. Personally, I like fresh ingredients the best, too. But, when there is a great sale on something, some of it invariably makes it into the freezer.
      And, a very happy and healthy New Year to you and yours!

  7. Cavewife said

    This was the BEST pasta that I ever had. Bar none!! The only thing that would have made this meal better is if we had fresh bread so I could have scooped up the excess sauce and licked my plate clean!!

Leave a Reply

 
