Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Freezer Food Fest #4

Posted by Caveman Cooking on January 1, 2010

It’s official! We’re moving!! So, I have been given a “request” by the Cavewoman to empty the freezer before we hit the road. The pressure is on!

Well, I finally did it! I hitched up my chonies, gathered my courage, collected myself and headed into the bowels of the freezer to see what I would find. Oh … the horror!! It’s amazing how every freezer seems to have a little “Bermuda Triangle” area where food products go in, never to be seen again. At least, not seen again before they are freezer-burned beyond all recognition and are covered by that “protective layer of ice”, as the Cavemom likes to call it.
Speaking of which, if you haven’t seen Albert Brooks’ “Mother”, with Debbie Reynolds as his Mom, do yourself a favor and rent it. It is one of the funniest mother/son dynamic movies I’ve ever laughed my way through. Her devotion to her freezer is only exceeded by my mom’s conviction that anything can and should be frozen. But, I digress.
I somehow managed to navigate to that seldom seen nook where frozen foods go to fade into the frosty sunset. What I found flabbergasted me! No less than two Tri-tips and one brisket, along with 20 of the Cavemom’s Potato Latkes, several ears of corn and a package of Hebrew National Hot Dogs all had fallen victim to the insidious effect of their frozen environment.
It pained me to toss all of these previously edible items into the dumpster and I wondered how it was that these family favorites had escaped our attention until it was too late. Wasting food is one of my personal pet peeves, which made all this seem even more morose. However this travesty occurred, I have pledged to make sure it never happens again. Never again will our frozen food products disappear from our culinary radar. Never again will they find their way to the trash can before finding their way to the dining table. Never again will they fall prey to the freezer’s fickle finger of frozen fate. NEVER AGAIN!

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

6 Responses to “Freezer Food Fest #4”

  1. Got to do the same when we move shortly. Feel your pain brother Caveman!
    -Doc

  2. JeffR said

    Yumm I love latkes!! It brings out the Jewish side of me.

  3. Cavewife said

    I’m amazed but not surprised that we had meat that old honey. You and I aren’t exactly the poster children of organization. Just wait until I put you to work in the pantry. I wait to see what you find there!!

Leave a Reply

 
