Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Cavetaters

Posted by Caveman Cooking on January 4, 2010


What’s breakfast without some good potatoes? These are a family favorite and really easy to make.

INGREDIENTS

2 Large Russet Potatoes
1/2 Cup Onions
2 Tbsp. Vegetable Oil
2 Large Garlic Cloves
1/2 Tbsp. World Spice Merchants Montreal Steak Spice or Biscayne Citrus Rub
Salt & Pepper to tatse

RECIPE

Mince garlic, chop onions set aside. Chop potatoes into 1/4″ to 1/2″ cubes.
NOTE: This recipe is great when made with leftover baked potatoes. If using them, skip the following step.
Either boil or microwave potatoes until just barely fully cooked – don’t over cook. Check for doneness with a fork. Set aside.

Heat oil in large skillet. Add 1/3 of each the onions and garlic. Sautee briefly. Add potatoes, spread into a flat layer. Add spices, and salt & pepper to taste.

Cook until bottom sides are golden brown. Flip over with spatula and add remaining onions and garlic.

Continue cooking until desired doneness achieved. The Cavepeople like them well done. Serve along side any breakfast dish, like a Cave Scramble.
HINT: I like to hit them with some Tabasco before chowing down.

Prep Time = 10-15 minutes
Cook Time = 10 minutes
Serves 2-4

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

19 Responses to “Cavetaters”

  1. Look at that perfect dice! I’m lucky I don’t cut my fingers off when (seldom) I cook in the morning.

  2. JeffR said

    Tabasco rules!

  3. hello caveman got the bar of the translator on the right side below if you want to translate…nice recipe..

  4. I will probably have some of these tomorrow morning.

  5. boredcook said

    Those potatoes are looking pretty good! I love potatoes. In fact, I never had a potato I didn’t like. Except a sweet potato. Not so big on those.

  6. claudia said

    Comfort me with potatoes – especially in the morning. I crave warmth from carbs – delizioso!

    • Thank you, Claudia! Potatoes work anytime of day for me. Just wish I could find a great potato dessert (not sweet potato or yams). I’ve tried a couple and just didn’t care for it. Other than that, I haven’t found a ‘tater recipe I haven’t liked.

  7. Mathea said

    Those are some nice lookin taters!

  8. Kristi said

    I am a big potato fan! These look delish!

  9. I love potatoes! These sound good!

  10. Beautiful presentation. What a pretty dish!

Leave a Reply

 
