Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Garlic Shrimp in Creamy Tomato Sauce

Posted by Caveman Cooking on January 10, 2010


This a warm, savory dish that the whole family will devour!

INGREDIENTS

3/4 Pound Raw Shrimp
1 15 oz. Can Tomato Sauce
3 Tbsp. Sour Cream
4 Tbsp. Olive Oil
2 Tbsp. Minced Garlic
1 Tbsp. Fresh Chopped Basil
1 Large Tomato
1/2 tsp Red Crushed Pepper
Salt & Pepper to tatse

RECIPE

Rinse and drain shrimp. Remove tails, shells, and veins. Re-rinse and drain. Cover and refrigerate until ready for cooking.

Mince garlic, chop tomatoes and basil. Set aside.

In a sauce pan, heat 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil. When ready add 1 tablespoon each of garlic and basil. Saute for about one minute.

Reduce flame and add tomato sauce.

When warmed, whisk in sour cream. Add red crushed pepper. Salt & pepper to taste. Allow to simmer on very low flame.
HINT: I like to substitute garlic salt for the plain variety.

While sauce continues to warm, add remaining oil to a large skillet and saute remaining garlic about one minute. Add shrimp to pan and saute until just cooked.

Reduce flame to very low and stir in sauce. Reduce slightly.

Just before serving, gently fold tomatoes into sauce. Just long enough to warm the tomatoes.

Serve over your favorite pasta. Pictured here over Florentyna’s Black Linguini along with a side of Sauteed Yellow Squash.

I was going to show you a couple of pictures of the Cavekids enjoying this dish. But, nothing attests to their overwhelming approval of this recipe better than this ;):

Prep Time = 15 minutes
Cook Time = 15 minutes
Serves 4-6

ยฉ2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

20 Responses to “Garlic Shrimp in Creamy Tomato Sauce”

  1. Shirley said

    By the time I reached the last picture I was drooling! I understand the scrapped plates! Yummy.

  2. Geeze Louise! This one is my very very favorite. I love what you did with the sour cream. I can’t wait to try this and get back to you on my success. Your recipes are always so easy to follow that’s what I love about your site. Thanks again for sharing.

    Cheers, PT

    ps: I wonder if your photos are fattening?

  3. Sounds good to me. Guess I cannot claim a part can I? the cave kids ate all eh…

  4. MaryMoh said

    Mmmm….shrimp dish…my favourite. Looks very delicious. That would go great with noodles.

  5. Kristi said

    This meal looks so healthy with all those wonderful colors. I need you to teach me how to take pictures. Yours make the food look delish!

    • Thank you so much for the kind words, Momma Rim! On the photos, I am blessed with some great equipment, incredible advice and, on some of the shots, a pro photographer … all courtesy of my lovely and talented wife. I will say that good equipment makes post-production much less necessary, and our Canon 50mm portrait lens is just amazing. Though, the photog that did the SI “swimsuit edition” uses a little point-and-shoot and makes all his “magic” happen in Photoshop. If you haven’t joined Flickr, I highly recommend it. Many of the talented folks on there are willing to give advice and tips on how to make your shots better. Whatever you do, never stop learning and experimenting … the perfect picture has still yet to be taken. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. lvegas said

    I love your posts, they always make me smile..interesting recipes and photos that say a thousand words.

  7. sweetlife said

    A quick and warming dish for a weeknight meal, great recipe…love the empty plates every parent’s dream.. haha

  8. tastyeatsathome said

    Easy and delicious! Yum!

  9. I have bin eating beef for the past few weeks but after I saw this I might just give that a brake and have some shrimp. Great looking dish.

  10. Kat said

    That looks great! I love shrimp.

Leave a Reply

 
