Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Shrimp Avocado Rolls

Posted by Caveman Cooking on January 19, 2010

Food Blogs Post of the Day for 1/19/10

This recipe won Post of the Day for 1/19/10!


Thought Shrimp Rolls were only for restaurant dining? Think again!

INGREDIENTS

8 Medium-Large Shrimp
1/2 Avocado, ripened
2 Medium Carrots
2 Medium Celery Stalks
2-3 Green Onions
2 Tbsp. Fresh Chopped Basil
4 Egg Roll Wrappers
Vegetable Oil

RECIPE

Rinse and drain shrimp. Remove tails, shells, and veins. Re-rinse and drain. Cover and refrigerate until ready for cooking.

Sliver carrots, celery and onions. Chop Basil. Slice avocado. Set aside.

Next, set up your prep station with a prep plate, another plate dusted with corn starch, a cup of water and, of course, all your ingredients.

Place egg roll wrapper on prep plate and put 1/4 of all ingredients onto wrapper.

Fold one horizontal-to-food edge of wrapper over ingredients. Then, using 3-4 fingers, gently pull folded side back towards ingredients, making sure wrapper is snug against them.

Next, fold over both open ends of roll up to the point where the ingredients are. Roll the wrapper with ingredients toward the opposite horizontal edge. Just before reaching the end of the wrapper, run a wet finger along the edge of wrapper, then continue to finish rolling to the end. Lightly pinch the edge to the roll so that it doesn’t flop open. Place onto plate with corn starch. Repeat process until all rolls are made.

You can either deep fry or pan fry your Shrimp Avocado Rolls. Either way, heat your oil to about 375°. If pan frying, make sure you have enough oil in the pan to cover at least half of the roll. When the bottom half turns golden brown, flip over the rolls and continue until evenly cooked on both sides.

When done, remove rolls from oil and place onto paper towels to absorb excess oil. Allow to cool several minutes before serving.
HINT #1: Cut rolls in half with a sharp knife. They will cool quicker that way and won’t burn your mouth if you get have an unexpected hot-pocket of oil inside the roll.

Serve with your favorite Asian dipping sauce. These were served these with a spicy Plum Sauce – just 4 tablespoons of store-bought Plum Sauce combined with a heaping teaspoon of Ground Chili Sauce.
HINT #2: You can serve this as an appetizer, or plate with some Asian noodles to make it part of your main course.

Prep Time = 20 minutes
Cook Time = 10 minutes
Serves 2-4

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

18 Responses to “Shrimp Avocado Rolls”

  1. Glinda said

    This looks so yummy! You always do great things with the asian cuisine – I just love it!

  2. MaryMoh said

    Very delicious rolls. I would love that with chili sauce. Great for any time.

  3. You have made egg rolls in a whole new level. I never thought of putting avocados in egg rolls, it must taste really good with shrimps. I’ll give this for sure a try.

  4. JodieMo said

    Is this low fat? Please tell me it’s low-fat. It doesn’t even have to be, just tell me that it is so I can make this and eat every single one. Looks SO good.

    • Oh sure, J-Mo … not only low fat, but calorie-free! In fact, you’ll burn more calories than you take in just by chewing them!! 😉 Unfortunately, for me, I inhaled them … so I absorbed the full calorie/fat count! 😆

  5. Kristi said

    I’m making these this weekend. My husband loves egg rolls. Mine don’t turn out as pretty as yours. Believe it or not, I fry the hubby’s and bake mine. They don’t turn out as crispy, but I spray them with a bit of cooking spray and cook them in a hot oven (it’s the Weight Watchers person in me). I’ll admit I prefer his!

    • Let us know how it goes, Momma Rim!
      BTW, just a thought … perhaps instead of spraying the baked ones, try brushing them with a little Olive Oil. It’s just as healthy, and since it tends to burn at lower temps than regular oil, it might give it that Golden Brown crispiness that frying does. Mind you, I haven’t tried this in practice. But, it seems like it might work.

  6. This looks really good! I might need to make my own egg roll wrappers and plum dipping sauce though, none available in Bulgaria.

  7. Viviane said

    I am not sure about the fried avocado part but I would try once. I love rolls in general and I think these would be great with an avocado based dip or soy sauce. I have a thing for soy sauce!

  8. These look absolutely fantastic!!!! Will you cook them for me? I suppose I could cook them for myself, but you do such a good job. Love, Peggy

  9. Wow. What a great idea for a roll. I will definitely try it out. I saw on some other posts that your wife is a vegetarian. Check out my Vegetarian Spring Roll so you can make her some yummy rolls too. 🙂

    http://www.delicateflavors.com/2010/04/19/vegetarian-spring-roll-anyone/

Leave a Reply

 
