Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

BTA Turkey Sandwich

Posted by Caveman Cooking on January 21, 2010


No, BTA doesn’t stand for Bacon, Tomato, Avocado. Though, the latter two are part of this sub sandwich. Rather, it stands for Better Than Average … which it is! 😉

INGREDIENTS

1/4 Pound Sliced Turkey
1-2 Slices of Cheese
1/4 Avocado, ripened
1 Lettuce Leaf
2-3 Slices of Tomato
1-2 Slices of Sweet Onion, shaved
1 Tbsp. Mayonnaise (or other condiments)
1 tsp. Olive Oil
2 tsp. Red Wine Vinegar
1/4 tsp. World Spice Merchants Italian Herbs or TSS Italian Herbs & Cheese
1 Sandwich Roll

RECIPE

Slice your roll lengthwise, making sure not to cut all the way through the crust on one side.
HINT #1: Believe it or not, the choice of roll is one of the most important steps in making this sandwich rock. Fortunately, our local market has a bakery that makes incredible sub rolls.
Spread your condiments evenly on both halves of the roll. I use lite-mayo to try and make it a little healthier. But, you can use regular mayo, pesto-mayo, mustard, 1000 Island, etc., or any combination thereof.
On the bottom half of the roll evenly place your turkey slices. Then add your cheese slices.
NOTE: I usually use Swiss Cheese, but we were out of everything except for the kids’ String Cheese. So, I just pulled it apart and used that. Any of your favorite hard or semi-hard cheeses will work well.
Next, add your lettuce leaf, tomato slices and shaved onion. On the top half of the roll lay your avocado slices. Sprinkle the Italian herbs over the sandwich. Then, drizzle your oil and vinegar over the sandwich.

I also like to add pickle slices to my sandwich (not pictured because I forgot them until just before my first bite, and I was too lazy and hungry to re-shoot it ;)). You can also throw any of your other favorite veggies on there including cucumbers, mushrooms, peppers (marinated Red Peppers work really well), etc. Be creative … a sandwich is only limited by your imagination!
Enjoy with some chips, pasta salad, side salad, mac salad, etc. Served here with Harvest Cheddar Sun Chips (again, trying to be a little healthier).
HINT #2: To make closing this sandwich up easier, and to be able to slice it easily, take a large sharp knife and lay it against the ingredients on the bottom half of the sandwich firmly enough to hold everything in place without squishing them. Simultaneously, fold the top half over the knife, and then smoothly slide the knife out of the sandwich.

Prep Time = 5 minutes
Cook Time = n/a
Serves 1

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

11 Responses to “BTA Turkey Sandwich”

  1. Your gorgeous picture of this delicious sandwich is totally making me hungry!

  2. boredcook said

    I have everything for this sandwich except the avocado. And I’m not making it without the avocado, because I just know that is what makes this! Plus, I LOVE avocados. I’m heading out to the store later so guess what I will be picking up.

    On a side note, my mother-in-law was visting recently and she left a package of those sandwich thins. I had never tried them, but once I did with some tuna the other day I fell in love. They probably would not hold up to this sandwich since they are thin, but the possibilities for the thin, toasted, crispy sandwiches I could make with those immediately started flowing through my head.

    • Yeah, the Avo really helps make this sandwich. I tired those thins recently, the whole grain ones. Actually they were pretty darn good. I think you’ll like them, Pam. Still, there’s no substitute for a good sub roll! 😉

  3. thanks so much for showing me a great sandwich for which I have no ingredients to make!

  4. BigA said

    Whoa! This is making my old haunt Great Outdoors creep into my system, and the only one is in Texas, and I am in NJ! I love avocado on a sandwich! Love this…

  5. Sheskis said

    I sure like your posts, particularly your hints! How is clearing out the freezer coming?

    • Thank you, Sheskis! Freezer Food Fest has been on hold this week since I’ve been sick as a dog … don’t want to infect the rest of the Caveclan. Hopefully, I can get back on track in the next couple of days.

Leave a Reply

 
