Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Freezer Food Fest #12

Posted by Caveman Cooking on February 17, 2010

It’s official! We’re moving!! So, I have been given a “request” by the Cavewoman to empty the freezer before we hit the road. The pressure is on!

Freezer Food Fest #12No, I haven’t forgotten about this icy quest. Between the Super Bowl, Valentines Day, house-buying (40 miles away), packing, and all the other daily endeavors we all face it has just been put on hold. But, with D-day now less than three weeks away it was definitely time to get busy on creating complete vacancy in the ice box.
So, it was with great delight, that I found the leftovers from the Holiday dinner Cavemom had made for us almost two months ago (where does the time go?!?). While there was no Chopped Liver, homemade Apple Sauce, Cole Slaw, and other festive dishes were nowhere to be found in the oversized plastic bag, there was enough of her traditional Hanukkah faire of Beef Brisket and Potato Pancakes to feed the Cavekids and me one more time.
My mom has always given her brisket a double dose of flavor by first dry rubbing it before cooking it, and then adding a special slightly sweet yet tangy sauce to go over it after slicing. It is always a hit with family and friends. However, as good as the meat is, it is her Latkas that are the chef d’oeuvre everyone clamors for. They’re made with shredded spuds, onions, apples and a host of other ingredients that combine to make a delectable tuber disk that you just can’t get enough of. The good news is that when Cavemom made this batch, I helped, took pics and jotted down the recipe … so, I’ll be sharing it in the next day or so. Freezer Food Fest #12
But, for this redux of this fabulous meal, all I had to do was throw the foil wrapped packets of meat and potatoes into a 375° oven for 25 minutes and zap the sauce for a minute. I have to admit, I am not a big fan of frozen/reheated brisket because it tends to dry out a bit. Such was the case here, though it was still very flavorful. The potato pancakes, on the other hand, came out almost as delicious as the day we made them. Topped with a little apple sauce, they were MmmmMMMM gooood!!!
Now, back to the home-purchase insanity and the house-packing lunacy! 😮 If my head spontaneously combusts, you’ll understand!!

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

14 Responses to “Freezer Food Fest #12”

  1. Mazel tov

  2. sweetlife said

    I look froward to the recipe, brisket is BIG down here in Texas!!!

    sweetlife

  3. I am so surprised that the potato latkes came out great! Definitely good to know! Good luck on your big change of scenery! I am moving too in a few months, except 5000 miles away!

  4. MaryMoh said

    Food looks delicious. Oh…moving house is a real big thing. It’s no joke packing and unpacking. I have moved 9 times, the most recent one just a few months ago. Haven’t sorted out everything yet! Hope your moving is smooth.

  5. Awesome, we’re moving and emptying the freezer as well. Great inspiration!

    -Doc

  6. Shirley said

    All the Best Cave family!

  7. boredcook said

    Looks good, and I LOVE Latkas. Funny story. I grew up Catholic but my sister married a man who is Jewish. We went for a holiday dinner at his parents house and it was the first time I had ever eaten Matza (sp?) Ball Soup, Brisket, and Latkas. I was in love! One day when I was pregnant with my second son and at my OBGYN’s office, his nurse who was Jewish was talking about her upcoming Passover dinner. My mouth started watering and I told her all of the traditional Jewish foods I had come to love over the years. She laughed at me and said, “Pam, you may have a Catholic soul, but you absolutely have a Jewish stomach.” LOL And she was right.

    Another reason I like this post is hubby and I are making a brisket next week. I picked one up on sale a month ago and froze it. I’m trying to decide it I want to slow cook it in the oven or have him smoke it. Not sure yet, but it’s getting made next week, one way or the other.

  8. I told my hubby several years ago that we would never move again unless we could hire someone to do everything. All the packing, all the loading, all the moving. Not long after that his company transferred him and, guess what…paid for everything to be done. We didn’t have to lift a finger. Woo-hoo. If you afford it, it’s the only way to go! Good luck cleaning that freezer out. It would take me a year to cook everything that’s in my big upright one.

    • Lana, we have hired movers since the three blown disks in my back probably wouldn’t last a day doing the heavy lifting. But, we are doing all the packing ourselves. Hope to be done with the non-essentials by next Wednesday … we’ll see! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
