Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Peeling A Multi-Layered Potato

Posted by Caveman Cooking on March 3, 2010

As you know, a potato is no onion. That is to say, a tater only has two layers: the skin and the starch. This post, contrarily, will have several layers. Yet, it will still pay homage to the layer-declined tuber.
First, however, a quick update on dad. The good news is that he continues to, once again, be able to swallow small amounts of water and pureed food. Hence, the end is no longer as imminent as we believed it to be just a week ago. Of course, the insidious disease that has put him in his near vegetative state remains cureless and will eventually regain it’s dominion over his ability to sustain himself. I thank each of you that has offered support and sympathy in this difficult time … I can’t begin to describe the comfort and succor it has given to my family and me.
Secondly, a quick update on the new cave. We have just three more days to complete all the work we need to get done before moving day. Yes, the pressure is on. Yes, I am having great doubt that I can meet that deadline for all my projects and packing. Yes, I am freaking out! 😮 To add to my feelings of dread, the weather report is calling for a huge storm this Saturday … moving day. Can we buy a break?!? The good news: the Cavewoman loved the light fixtures I picked up for the bathrooms. One thing (actually five things) I won’t have to return!
Thirdly, did anyone else notice that yesterday was “Countdown Day”? (3/2/10)
And, lastly, I have been feeling very guilty about not being able to post anything here food related in the past week or so. Getting ready for our northward migration has not only limited my writing time, it has pretty much wiped out any chance for me to do some cave-cooking. So, it is with great delight that I get to share with you the awesome tater tip below, sent to me by the Cave-in-laws.
My excitement exists on several levels (ie. layers). Obviously, I finally get a long overdue culinary concept published on this cyber-rag, and it really is a great tip. But, perhaps the most arousing part is that it is delivered by Dawn Wells who played Mary Ann on the infamous sitcom “Gilligan’s Island”. Growing up, nearly every heterosexual male I encountered had a thing for Ginger – the voluptuous actress stranded on the uncharted, yet often visited, island along with six other castaways. My “thing”, however, was always for the unassuming, Daisy-duke clad, Kansas farm girl played by Ms. Wells to whom time has been extremely kind (ie. she is still hot! ;)). So, it was with incredible glee that I watched the following and made plans to try the next time a potato needs peeling:

On a side note, I find it amazing that GI has received such legendary status considering that it only lasted three seasons on network TV. Though, back then, a season consisted of 30+ episodes, as opposed to today where as few as 6 shows may constitute a season. With 98 different episodes to choose from, syndication was what made this show such an enduring hit that will actually spawn a major motion picture to be released later this year. IMHO, the incredible post-cancellation success of shows like GI and Star Trek are proof that many, if not most, television executives have no idea what the heck they are doing. But, that is fodder for a whole other subject on a different forum.

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

11 Responses to “Peeling A Multi-Layered Potato”

  1. boredcook said

    Truth be told, I kinda had a thing for “The Professor”. He was geeky, but hot at the same time.

    My husband is the opposite of geeky, rugid and manly. But he recently got reading glasses and at first they kinda looked “off” on him. Now they have grown on me and I told him they are actually sexy. Kinda like fooling around with a male librarian. To which he looked at me like I was crazy (and of course, well, I am).

    Okay…I’m ending this comment. How in the heck Ginger from GI’s, a potato peeling episode and talks of old sitcoms turned into me finding my husband hot when he wears nerdy reading glasses is beyond me. This is just a little example of how my mind works…and I’m scared now because I’ve just let it out there for all to see.

    Just as a side note…I read somewhere awhile back that MaryAnn was actually a bigger fantasy for young men than Ginger was. Which is sort of weird since she was the good girl and Ginger was not. Maybe it’s that Catholic school girls in their uniform turn on for guys? I don’t know.

    Seriously, I’m ending this comment. What any of this has to do with anything spewing forth from my keyboard is beyond me. Climbing back in my hole.

  2. Chris said

    I saw this on someone else’s blog and I echoed your comments exactly. I’m a Mary Anne kind of guy!

    And holy carp [sic]! Has she aged very well or what?

  3. Dawn is so beautiful. I was secretly extra happy she had remained natural without the Botox bimbo enhancements. (I don’t think it makes anyone look better) Gish; I guess it’s just me.

    Anyway, we thank you for the update on your dad and pray he improves.

    I loved the video! Really loved it. What a great tip; leave it to you Caveman to find this great stuff.

    Best of luck on the move, I’m confident all will go splendidly!
    Take care,
    PT & Gabriella

    • It’s not just you, PT & G. I am not a fan of the plastic look so many opt for in our appearance conscious society, either. Back in the Caveman days, we would just slap some mud on and that was considered a “treatment”. 😆
      Thank you for all your kind thoughts!

  4. Glinda said

    Good to see Dawn looking so well in that great video! I am going to try it the next time I do potatoes.

    I am glad your Dad is doing better. I am keeping him in my thoughts and prayers.

    I hope the move goes smoothly with no saber-toothed tigers in sight, LOL!

    Do you have any moving day/new house traditions for the first meal cooked in your new home? I always make a pot of Chili the first night in a new place. (Basically because it is a one pot meal, LOL!) I don’t know if anyone else has that kind of a tradition or not….

    • Haven’t decided on the first meal I’ll cook in the new house, but I do know what the first meal there will be. Pizza!! DELIVERED!!! 😉
      Thank you for all your kind words, thoughts and prayers, Glinda!

  5. boredcook said

    Something funny today that made me think of you, Mark. I was heading down to meet up with my sister so my sons could get fitten for their tux’s for an upcoming family wedding and I passed by one of my favorite seafood stores. It had been awhile since I had been down that way and they expanded their store and opened a seafood restaurant up next door. The name; “Gilligan’s Island Clam Bar.” I actually started laughing in the car when I saw it. If I had my camera I would have taken a picture.

  6. Can you get Dawn to peel more than a potato?

Leave a Reply

 
