Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Mouthwatering Macaroons

Posted by Caveman Cooking on April 1, 2010

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons
With Passover here, we are sharing a few recipes that we contributed to Cavemom’s Sedar. This is another one courtesy of the Cavewoman!

INGREDIENTS

14 Ounces of Shredded Coconut
14 Ounce Can of Sweetened Condensed Milk
2 Teaspoons Real Vanilla
OPTIONAL: 7 Ounces of Melting/Dipping Chocolate
Macaroon Ingredients

RECIPE

These are simple to make and always a crowd favorite. What’s not to love, coconut, vanilla and sweet condensed milk (aka “nectar of the Gods”)?
To make, in a large bowl, you simply place together the shredded coconut, sweetened condensed milk and vanilla. Mix well with a rubber spatula.
Ingredients Mixed

Generously coat two cookie trays with cooking spray. I tried it with buttered pans and it didn’t work as well as using Pam. This picture was with the butter and they were harder to remove, the next batch was with Pam and it was MUCH easier.
Before you bake, form them into little pyramids.
Forming Macaroons

Bake at 350° for 9 to 11 minutes depending on how brown you like them. I actually prefer them a little over cooked because the sweetened condensed milk nearly burnt should be a food group all it’s own. I probably broke off a part of each cookie and ate myself before the party. Don’t judge, I’m weak.
I found that removing them from the tray after settling for a minute or so is the best. Use two spatulas to remove and place on wax paper. When they cool just a bit more, reform them back into little pyramids.
Macaroons on Baking Tray

If you are lazy, or don’t like chocolate, you can just call it a day and be done. These are excellent plain. But, if you want to take them to the next level, read on!
Now for the fun part…….melted chocolate!! We got this from the party store and it was okay, but not as good as the melting chocolate you get from the cake decorating stores. We just moved so we had to settle for what we could find.
Melting Chocolate

After the cookies have cooled sufficiently, place the chocolate pieces into the double boiler on low. Be careful to not overheat and remove from heat once melted. I made the mistake of overdoing it with the second batch and had to form the chocolate like Playdoh onto each cookie. They turned out tasting great but weren’t nearly as pretty.
Melted Chocolate

Look how our girl’s face lights up when chocolate is in her future. Actually, from the look of her upper lip, it looks like she was sneaking licks from the spoon when I wasn’t looking!
Dippin' Girls

Just dip each cooled cookie into the chocolate … we dipped all sides and left the bottom plain. After dipping place on wax paper again. It worked out great. Our only mistake was not doing more! They were the first to go!! Next time I’ll dip at least 2/3’s of the batch … if not the whole thing.
Dipped Macaroons

Once chocolate has completely hardened, remove from wax paper and store in an airtight container layered with even more wax paper. Wax paper companies must love this recipe. 😉
If you have extra dipping chocolate, don’t let it go to waste. Crumble up pretzels and pour some nuts in to make yummy chocolate pretzel balls.
Enjoy!!
Chocolate Dipped Macaroons

Prep Time = 10 minutes
Cook Time = 10
Makes 24 Cookies

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

24 Responses to “Mouthwatering Macaroons”

  1. MaryMoh said

    Ooooh….these look really good. So simple to make. I must make them. Condensed milk….my favourite!! Thanks for sharing.

  2. ooooh..those look yummy and the Cavefamily is adorable!! Looks like your settling into the new cave just fine!! =)

  3. Stella said

    Yum, these look great-never knew they were so easy to make at home. Oh, and I like the way the little one has chocolate smeared across her lips-cute!

  4. Yummy macaroons, what a great project to do with the kids!

  5. Chris said

    I can tell they didn’t enjoy making those at all (ha ha).

  6. Great post, sweetie! I will say that these are so addicting … I’m still craving these after eating almost a whole batch by myself. So, beware! 😉

  7. Oh Man I love Macroons and those look fantastic! Just in time for Easter but I’m not sure they would last long enought to get to the basket.

  8. boredcook said

    I love macaroons! The other night at work I was dying for chocolcate, and more specifically, an Almond Joy bar. I hit the candy machine in the cafeteria, and as I’m always doing I was busy flapping my gums talking to someone on their break. Sure enough I hit the wrong button and ended up with a bag of Swedish Fish instead of my Almond Joy bar. My desire for chocolate and coconut was crushed.

    On a side note, a few months ago I remember seeing all these recipe titles online for “Macarons”. I kept seeing them and thinking, ‘Has everyone lost their mind and fogotten how to spell Macaroons!’ How embarassing when I found out that a Macaron is actually a special type of cookie and NOT a chocolate covered coconut cluster. I never said I was a rocket scientist.

  9. I would be very happy to receive a tin full of these treats!

  10. Reeni said

    I’d be sneaking little tastes too! Such scrumptious gems!

  11. Amy B. said

    Cool! Really looks mouthwatering!! And that’s cute, you’re making them with your lil girl 🙂

  12. tastyeatsathome said

    LOVE me some macaroons! These sound delicious.

  13. Kathleen said

    I love macaroons. Thees look really good! Cute picture of the cavegirls!

  14. Fantastic! Darling picture of the cavegirls!

  15. tim said

    Made these the other day.Very easy and inexpensive.The chocolate was a little tricky,but everyone LOVED them!Thanks

  16. tim said

    I was going to use the type you suggested,but my wife said “we have baking & choc. chips already”.It hardened very quickly,so I just formed it around them and everyone in the house thought I was King.Thanks again,I’ll be trying other recipes soon.I’ll let you know.

  17. These look yummy! Coconut is my favorite. You should try using fresh coconut, now that I figured out how to open them, there is no stopping me!

Leave a Reply

 
