Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

Killer Mac Salad

Posted by Caveman Cooking on April 8, 2010

Food Blogs Post of the Day for 4/8/10

This recipe won Post of the Day for 4/8/10!

Killer Mac Salad
This will have everyone “Oooing” and “Ahhhing” at your next BBQ. Even the Cavewoman, who hates mac salad, loves this recipe! πŸ˜‰

INGREDIENTS

1 Pound Elbow Pasta (I prefer the large size, not jumbo)
3 Medium Eggs, hard boiled – finely chopped
1 Large Celery Stalk – finely chopped
1/4 Small Onion – minced
1-2 Teaspoon Garlic – minced
1 Large Carrot – finely shredded
2 Tablespoons Relish
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1/2 Teaspoon Black Pepper
1/2 Teaspoon TSS Texas All Season
1.25 Cups Mayonnaise

RECIPE

NOTE #1: With barbeque season rearing it’s flavorful head, I thought I’d share this family favorite.
Boil pasta as per directions on package – strain and rinse in cool water.
Rinsing Pasta

While boiling water and cooking pasta, chop onions and celery, shred carrot and mince garlic. Set aside.
Chopped & Shredded Veggies

One of the best tips I can give you for this recipe is to get yourself a willing (and cute) sous chef. Here, the Caveboy is demonstrating great shredding technique.
Caveboy Shredding

Once pasta has cooled, chop hard boiled eggs. If you chop them too soon they tend to get a bit dried out and rubbery. Briefly set aside.
NOTE #2: This is a great utilization for some of those leftover Easter eggs.
Chopped Egg

You will need an extra-large mixing bowl for this recipe. And, no kitchen is complete without an XL Looney Tunes mixing bowl! πŸ˜‰
Looney Tunes Mixing Bowl

Place pasta and all ingredients into bowl and mix well.
Mac Salad Ingredients

Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours – overnight is better!
HINT: Scoop some onto your plate. Then, drizzle some Killer BBQ Sauce on top … Mmmmmmmmm MMMMMMMM! TASTY!!!
Killer Mac Salad
This also works as a great side for Asian and Hawaiian BBQ dishes.

Prep Time = 20 minutes
Cook Time = n/a Minutes
Serves 12-16

Β©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at http://cavemancooking.net authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

23 Responses to “Killer Mac Salad”

  1. Glinda said

    I will have to try this as soon as the weather warms up – it looks delish!! It is just not quite BBQ weather in the midwest yet. Can I borrow the Looney Tunes bowl, please?

  2. With all that help, dicing and slicing should have been a breeze

  3. swibirun said

    My 10 y/o is a great sous chef too! I like this dish, so summery feeling.

  4. bunkycooks said

    Congrats on the Food Blog of the day! Your mac salad looks so good! I love the easy Summer dishes…they are the best.

  5. This look interesting. I am always looking for new American BBQ salad to share with my foreign friends. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Drick said

    yep, love a good pasta salad with BBQ and this one looks perfect

  7. I miss macaroni salad! I usually only make it during holidays, but I love it enough that I really should make it more often. This one looks great too. I don’t normally use carrots in mine but I’ll give ’em a try next time πŸ˜€

  8. krimkus said

    Sounds perfect for a barbecue!

  9. braiseboilbake said

    YUM. I LOVE macaroni salad! I look forward to making this soon, once I get my smoker up and running!

    • Funny you mention that, Jennifer. I was just thinking about firing my smoker up. Just wondering where to get a fresh pice of Whitefish or Salmon in the new Cavehood. 😐
      Let us know how it goes when you do make it.

  10. Looks great,
    Always a nice side-btw, where did you get that awesome looney tunes bowl?
    -Doc

    • Thanks, Doc. I received that bowl as a gift about 15 years ago … I think it was purchased at the now-defunct Looney Tunes Store. It’s actually supposed to be a popcorn bowl, but I find it too big and heavy to hold in my lap while watching a movie. So, it has become our favorite large-format mixing/serving bowl.
      Found this on E-bay: http://tinyurl.com/y3oppje It’s different, but still cool!

  11. Oh, my gosh, this macaroni salad looks great! I love mac salad. The hubs…not so much. Too bad but more for me!

  12. kanani said

    p.s. mac salad works AWESOME with hawaiian food. all hawaiian food. πŸ™‚ well done, friend.

Leave a Reply

 
