Caution: Caveman Cooking

Recipes so easy, even a … Well, you know!

BBQ Rub-a-dub

Posted by Caveman Cooking on July 13, 2010

C3TV - Watch This RecipeBBQ Rub-a-dub 1
Usually, I like to use the proprietary rubs offered by the folks at World Spice Merchants. However, in a pinch (ie. when I have forgotten to place my order) I’m forced to come up with my own creations. This is one of my favorites, developed originally for my Dutch Oven R&R Pulled Pork made with R&R BBQ Sauce, but it’s also good for any pork, beef, or even chicken Q-ing needs. Best of all, it’s super simple!

SIDE NOTE: I realize that I haven’t posted any actual recipes in a bit since we were on our two week, 2900 mile jaunt up to Idaho. Sure, there have been a bunch of great Road Trip Hits posted (and there is one more coming), but it’s time to share more Caveipes. So, over the next several days, I’ll be posting a few seasonal BBQ recipes for you to enjoy.

INGREDIENTS

3 TBSP Paprika
2 TBSP World Spice Merchants Ancho Chili Powder
2 TBSP World Spice Merchants Chipotle Chili Powder
2 Tsp Cayenne Pepper
1 Tsp Sea or Kosher Salt
1 Tsp Dried Chopped Garlic
1/2 Tsp Red Crushed Pepper
1/2 Tsp Black Pepper

RECIPE

In a small bowl mix or whisk all ingredients together well. Then, spread liberally on your intended target. Cover and refrigerate a minimum of 4 hours (overnight is better). You should have enough rub for 5-6 pounds of meat or two racks of ribs. Pictured here encrusting some Country Style Pork Ribs.
BBQ Rub-a-dub 2

Prep Time = 5 minutes
Cook Time = n/a
Makes 4 Tablespoons

©2010 Caution: Caveman Cooking/UHearMe, Inc. All rights reserved. This recipe originally appeared on the Caution: Caveman Cooking blog at https://cavemancooking.wordpress.com authored by Caveman. This recipe may be shared and reprinted as long as this entire copyright message accompanies it.

12 Responses to “BBQ Rub-a-dub”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Hungry Southerner. Hungry Southerner said: RT @CavemanCooking: BBQ Rub-a-dub: http://wp.me/pGpdt-AU […]

  2. caren said

    sounds delicious!
    I was AWOL for a bit because I am not super into Mexican food, glad to see a recipe again! 🙂

    I have to ask a really stupid question. When you use a rub such as this can you bake the meat or even put it in a slow cooker? I am on the 2nd floor of a condo building and we are not permitted to grill 😦

    • Hey Caren! Check out the non-Mexican RT Hits. Hank’s Creekside was awesome, as was Mezzaluna Italiano! 😉
      Not a stupid question at all! As a matter of fact, I developed this rub (and the sauce that goes with it) for my Pulled Pork recipe which is done in a Dutch Oven. So, yeah, it will work very well in the oven, or even a crock pot.

  3. Steve said

    I always use rubs when I grill but I’m never cleaver enough to write them down though I always seem use the same ingredients. Along with most of what you used I always add coriander, dried mustard and cumin.

    • Yeah, Steve, I’m usually in the “Kitchen Sink” crowd when it comes to adding spices, too. Love putting Coriander (especially the whole seeds) in my rubs. However, as I said, this was developed to compliment my R&R BBQ Sauce (recipe coming tomorrow). Hence, the “spartan” nature of this rub. 😉

  4. This looks like a great dry rub. I looked at it and i can’t find anything that i would add to it.
    http://www.best-easy-recipes.com/Meathelp.html

  5. […] 2 Shots (3 Ounces) Dark Rum 4 TBSP Molasses 4 TBSP Brown Sugar 4 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar 2 Tsp BBQ Rub-a-dub (or the smokey rub of your choice) 1 Tsp Red Crushed Pepper 1/2 Tsp Cayenne Pepper 1/2 Tsp Sea or […]

  6. […] – 5 Pounds Pork Shoulder 1 Preparation BBQ Rub-a-dub 1 Preparation R&R BBQ Sauce 1 Medium Onion 3 Large Garlic […]

  7. This rub sounds like it would be good on anything! Yum. 😀

  8. This is just what I needed. I am no subscribed to your feed. Thank you.

  9. […] Barbecue Rub from Caveman Cooking – this has become my all-purpose savory/spicy rub […]

Leave a Reply

 
